Ignorance is Not Bliss

We have all heard the phrase “ignorance is bliss” at one point in our lives, but let’s just think about how much truth is in that statement. There’s so much wrong with that.

The definition of ignorance is “lack of knowledge or information”.  Ignorance can get people into a lot of trouble. I mean take for example, if I ever got stranded in a forest by myself for months and I was ignorant to what foods were poisonous and which were not, I’m in a life or death position all because of my ignorance. In that situation I would certainly not be on my death bed after eating poisonous berries saying “oh yeah. Ignorance is totally bliss.” No. I’d be an idiot to say that. My ignorance just killed me.

“…my people are destroyed for a lack of knowledge. ‘Because you have rejected knowledge, I also reject you as my priests; because you have ignored the law of your God, I also will ignore your children.’ ” Hosea 4:6

Right in this very verse we see the definition of ignorance. My people are destroyed because of ignorance. If you take apart this word, you can find the word ignore. The verse goes on to say that because God’s people ignored Him and his laws, He’s now going to ignore them too.

I just want to take a moment to say that I believe that if you are reading my blog right now, that it’s for a reason. I believe that it is not by accident, but you are in the right place at the right time and that God divinely intertwined our lives just so I could say what I’m about to say.

I say this with all sincerity and a heavy heart. Are you ignoring God? Berries destroyed my life hypothetically. It was all because of my ignorance. I could have lived so much longer, done so many things, and enjoyed life, but it was all cut short because of my ignorance. I didn’t get to experience the fullness of all God had planned for me. Are you shorthanding yourself because of your ignorance? Do you feel empty? Are you ignoring that a relationship with God is what you need? The devil  wants you to stay ignorant to the truth that Jesus loves you so much that he did whatever it took just to have the chance to be in relationship with you. Jesus died knowing you could still reject him and not want to be in relationship with him.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly” John 10:10

Do you see the parallel that satan wants to destroy you and ignorance does destroy people? God never intended for His people to be lonely, depressed, or to feel purposeless. He came so that we could have life more abundantly. That means more than we can imagine handling all by ourselves. Don’t settle for less than what He’s promised you today. Don’t ignore it either.

The difference between truth and fact is that facts can change, but truth will be same no matter how much time has passed. Time has no diminishing effect on truth. Trees were still trees one hundred years ago. This is the truth. Trees are also real whether we believe in them or not. The same is true for God. He is truth. We needed him one hundred years ago and we need Him now. One day we are all going to stand before Him and He’s going to separate those He knows from those He does not. No one can say “God why didn’t you make yourself clearer to me? How was I supposed to know you are real?”. He makes himself clear to us every single day, whether we hear it from a person or not.

“The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display his craftsmanship. Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known.” Psalm 10:1-2.

Think about it. How many trees have you seen today? They weren’t hiding. They were in plain sight, but you chose to ignore them. How many blessings did God pour out on you today? They weren’t hidden but you chose to ignore them. Open your eyes and see all the ways God has made himself clear to you. I beg you, not to ignore him anymore. Open your eyes and see how many ways God has poured out  his love on you. If you have any questions or doubts in your mind about God’s existence, I want to encourage you. I was not always like this, sure in my faith. But I sought out the answers to my questions with abandon. I did whatever it took so that I could find out for myself. When I did that I had an encounter with His presence that marked me and left me never the same. It drowned out every voice of doubt.

His word says,”If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.” Jeremiah 29:13

I don’t know about you but to me that sounds like a dare. It’s also a promise. So if you want to know if God does exist, if he really loves you, I want to challenge you to seek him with your WHOLE heart. Don’t live in ignorance anymore. Don’t ignore that God is offering you a life that so much sweeter than one without Him. He wants to see you live without depression, without loneliness, and walking in your purpose. No it’s not always going to be easy, but I promise it’s worth it to find out.

And if you are already a believer I encourage you to learn what the Word says. Study it because it’ll expose the lies of the enemy and cultivate life in your life. Don’t let yourself be ignorant to what His Word says. Don’t ignore what it says either. His commands are not burdensome but they bring life and protection and so many other blessings.

It is my prayer that everyone reading would experience what Jesus meant when he said he came to bring us life and life more abundantly.

xoxo,

Ndi

Leave a Reply

