Awkward Moment of the Week #3: Kissy Kissy

Kissy Kissy

Kissy Kissy

So my awkward moment this week goes along perfectly with Valentine’s Day. It’s like it was a set up. Love can be awkward, or sometimes even just liking someone. Sometimes it’s just friends that are awkward. 

This past week I was working on a project for one of my classes with a classmate. His name is Alex. It was just Alex and I alone in this room working on this project. I’ve known him for a couple years, so I wasn’t really uncomfortable. Alex is also a really touchy person. He loves hugging people. I don’t really mind because I love hugs too. Anyways, Alex wasn’t really concentrating on our homework and started talking about his love life. He likes a girl who doesn’t feel the same way about him. He said, “Ndi, do you ever feel like you can never have the person you want, but you can have the people you don’t want?” I was barely paying attention to him and said, “I guess so.” He just looked at me like “Come on!!” Last semester I had mentioned that there was a guy that I liked but he just didn’t like me back. It was the same as his situation. So he said, “Take for example, you could tell Collin (another one of our classmates) that you wanted to be with him and you could have him in a heartbeat. You could tell me you wanted to be together, give me a lollipop, and you’d have me. But you can’t have that guy that you liked.” At this point he’s got my attention and I’m smirking and thinking to myself, “Well I know I can’t have him. Thanks for pointing that out again.” I just reminded him that sometimes God protects us from a relationship because He’s got something better for us. Then Alex says “You know, Will (another one of our classmates) seriously thought we were about to date at one point.” In my head, my eyes got really big and I was like “What in the world?!?!?” But on the outside I remained calm and just said “Really?….” Hahaha I had no words. I didn’t know what else to say. Alex and I are in no way compatible. I mentioned how I missed Will and Alex threw his arms around me and said, “I miss him too, but I’m so glad we’re friends, Ndi.” 

Haha I want everyone to get a clear picture of this. I’m sitting in a chair facing forward. Alex is sitting to the right of me and has his arms around me and is facing my direction. After he said “I’m so glad we’re friends, Ndi”, out of the corner of my eyes I see his face moving closer to mine but then backing away and then getting closer again and backing away again. I turned to him and said, “What are you doing?” He said “Well I was going to kiss you on your cheek, but I guess that would’ve been awkward. Did I save myself?? Tell me I saved myself, Ndi!!” And I’m just like “Sure…. You saved yourself, Alex.” I was just like, what in the world??? Hahaha. At that point I was like okay….I’m done doing homework alone with you. It’s time to go. My cheeks are reserved for family and old people that think I’m cute!

Warning: All names in this story have been changed to protect the innocent. 😉

I hope this made you smile. 🙂

jpeg

xoxo,
Ndi

Leave a Reply

