Awkward Moment:Early Bird Gets the Worm

I was so excited to finally have an “official” job! The Manager said show up to orientation at 8 pm the following week. I prepared all day long and wore my nicest outfit. I mean I was dressed to IMPRESS. When I looked in the mirror I impressed my own self! I showed up at the workplace 15 minutes early, 7:45pm. I walked in, saw the manager and she gave me a glance. “Yes. Can I help you?” In my head I thought, “Well of course! Does she not remember me? I mean, does she not remember what time we scheduled orientation?” I responded with a smile, “Yes. I’m here for orientation.” She looked confused. “Orientation is tomorrow at 8 pm.” My eyes were wide. I couldn’t believe it! I showed up a WHOLE day early! “Oh! Yes! Of course it is! Wow. I could’ve swore it was today…(nervous laughter)…At least I’m early! (nervous smile)” She wasn’t smiling or laughing at the awkward situation which made things even more awkward. I just said, “Okay, see you tomorrow!” and briskly walked out. I could hear her loudly whispering to another employee, “Man, she is ready to work!” Wow. What a first impression, Ndi!

Leave a Reply

