Awkward Moment: I didn’t want to hug you…

I made a new friend. At least I thought so. I wasn’t sure. Maybe we needed a DTR (Define The Relationship). Haha just kidding! I knew him in passing before and we had a conversation, but he was popular and forgot. I ran into him a month later at church. We spoke and he gave me his number. I thought to myself, “Wow! We’re officially friends now and not just Facebook!” Later that night I saw him again at church. We were both talking in the same group of friends. I thought he was reaching over to greet me and give me a hug. Again I thought, “Wow! We’re hugging status! We’re just that good of friends now!” So happily, I reached over and met him halfway to hug him. To my surprise he said, “Ope! We’ve got two in there!” Turns out he was trying to hug the girl standing directly behind me, not me. I had just intercepted the hug. Oh the embarrassment! I wanted to hide. Our friendship was too early and too fragile for these kinds of awkward moments. I couldn’t believe I just did that. Oh well. Hopefully, he’ll still want to be friends.

Leave a Reply

